Cosmonauts of Inner Space

Group Show

01.01.70 @ 00:00

Kyriaki Goni (ARTWORKS Fellow 2018) participates in the group show Cosmonauts of Inner Space at the National Observatory of Athens.

Cosmonauts of Inner Space exhibition focuses on the relationship between the different loci of the human quests for acquiring knowledge, the conjunctions and disjunctions between the inner and outer space, the microcosm and the macrocosm, the private and the social, as well as on the different ways/means of approaching them. As an initiative point, it aims to explore the dialectic relationship between the “microcosm” and the “macrocosm”, with conceptual emphasis on the inner voyage or the assumption of a figurative trip inside the human body.

Concerning the opposition between inner vs. outer space and microcosm vs. macrocosm, some scholars argue that there is no contrast; there is symmetry and isomorphy, or as Yuri Lotman argues, boundaries unify exactly as they divide.

The event will take place at the same time with exhibitions and performances in other big cities, like Athens and Tokyo, as part of the homonymous project: Cosmonauts of Inner Space, which is founded on the idea/concept of Spyros Verykios. He used the film Fantastic Voyage (Fleischer 1966) as the initial trigger, for focusing on the explorers of the “inner space” and their journeys within humans, which are an integral part of the human exploration in the seek of acquiring knowledge. The film recounts the adventures of a submarine crew which shrinks and becomes tiny so that it can enter the body of an injured scientist and fix the damage that his brain has suffered.

Participating artists: Manolis Aggelakis, Angelos Antonopoulos, Nikos Arvanitis, Zaharias Arvanitis, Isidora Avraam, Dimitris Baboulis, Emmanouil Bitsakis, Manos Chrisovergis, Rory O’Connor, Kyriaki Goni,Ioanna Gouma, Juliano Kaglis, Antonis Kapnisis, Apostolos Karakatsanis, George Kazazis, Thanos Klonaris, Kiki Kolympari, Panayiotis Lamprou,Varvara Liakounakou, Maria Mavropoulou,Christos Michaelides, Tassos Missouras, Vasilis Papatsarouhas, Marios Pavlou, Stefanos Rokos,George Tourlas, Giorgos Tserionis, Marios Fournaris, Spyros Verykios.

On view: 08.06.2018 – 22.06.2018